Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site experience the history of this major U.S. Civil Rights landmark at the Museum and Vistor Center across the street from Central High. The first African-American students -- "the Little Rock Nine" -- were admitted to the school in 1957 following a dramatic confrontation between Gov. Orval Faubus, who used the state's National Guard to block desegregation, and President Eisenhower, who sent federal troops to enforce it. See and feel the history of this important civil rights landmark–easily one of the must-see attractions in the South.This national historic site tells the story of the events of the 1957 desegregation crisis through photographs, artifacts and other historically relevant information. It’s one of the most interesting places to visit in Central Arkansas and includes visitor information services, a retail sales area, restrooms and a conference room with flexible space for educational and meeting opportunities.
The original visitor center, a refurbished Mobil gas station across the street from the high school, was formally opened as the Central High School Museum Visitor Center in September, 1997. It is now used for special programs.It was replaced in 2007 by a new Little Rock Central High School visitor’s center which opened on September 25, 2007 in time for the anniversary. The center is located at 2120 Daisy Bates Drive near Central High.